=TFC=

The Friendly Clan is dedicated to the enjoyment of the BF2 Game.
 
HomePortalMemberlistRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Last Flag Rule, Help?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Mamba334

avatar

Posts : 385
Birthday : 1979-05-02
Join date : 2012-06-01
Age : 38
Location : Montgomery, Alabama, USA

PostSubject: Last Flag Rule, Help?    Sun Jun 10, 2012 6:25 am

I was just simply wanting to get more clarity on this. Seems the only issue I have with ever being kicked is, the last flag rule.

From my understanding, no arty on last flag.

Okay, here's where my problem lies ... if the enemy has .. say the beach and it's their flag, then they have the south flag neutral, why no arty? I was told you could arty away from the flag so many yards out or you could arty the flag they have if the other is neutral. That's what was explained to me.

Well, last night, I was a Commander. We were doing great and all. Then, the enemy had the beach flag, but the south was neutral. I called for arty on beach and got kicked. I signed off because I was already sleepy and had to work in 5 hours. I just wanted to clarify this rule because I would someday like to join up as a member and I don't itk or act all losely with my ammo, firing at teammates.

Thanks,

Mamba
Back to top Go down
that_old_man



Posts : 58
Birthday : 1961-01-26
Join date : 2010-07-18
Age : 56

PostSubject: Re: Last Flag Rule, Help?    Sun Jun 10, 2012 8:11 am

Hi. I kicked you (as I would have kicked anyone else for that rule). It's a rule that I tend to be strict with. I think you know the rules well, but have had the gray flags explained incompletely. How I like to describe gray flags is that they belong to nobody. It doesn't matter who is trying to take that flag or which way it's going. So in that regard China still only had one flag, Beach., so your arty was a violation

This may seem to limit commanders but there is a flip side. Since gray flags belong to no one, it's OK to attack them at any time. So in your case, if US was able to get Beach to gray, then you could have dropped arty on it because it no longer would have been China's last flag.

For this same reason we allow pilots to attack gray flags.

I hope that helps.

that_old_man
Back to top Go down
Mamba334

avatar

Posts : 385
Birthday : 1979-05-02
Join date : 2012-06-01
Age : 38
Location : Montgomery, Alabama, USA

PostSubject: Re: Last Flag Rule, Help?    Sun Jun 10, 2012 8:49 am

I was on ventrillo. You could've just told me that brother! Lol.

I apologize.

Yes, I was told that if one flag is neutral, then they are about to have two, so arty is allowed. I guess I should've just waited to see who got that flag that was in neutral. Sorry for the kick. I hate having that on my record. I think I'll just avoid being a Commander until I get more understanding on the rules. I tend to follow them the best of my ability.

Thanks for the response.

- Mamba
Back to top Go down
Mamba334

avatar

Posts : 385
Birthday : 1979-05-02
Join date : 2012-06-01
Age : 38
Location : Montgomery, Alabama, USA

PostSubject: Re: Last Flag Rule, Help?    Sun Jun 10, 2012 10:20 am

#12- No Chopper, No Arty on last flag unless it is the airfield.

Like a Star @ heaven Okay, so this clears up a lot but again, I think all Admins should have an understanding on this rule. I have bombed the airfield when it was the last flag and heard someone say no arty.

15 - Do not switch team to the winning team.

Like a Star @ heaven This can get people in trouble because, I have been playing myself and will be on one team, it then automatically switches due to players left or something. And come to find out that was the current winning team. I like to be the underdog. I never switch to winning teams intionally. It then kicks you and you lose all your points. That Auto Admin thing doesn't know exactly what happened. I think before you kick people, if they are on Ventrillo or in your squad, you should be able to see they are apologizing for the mistake or ask them why that happened.

I'm not one to wine and complain. I just see things and make my suggestion.

Thanks,

- Mamba
Back to top Go down
E641

avatar

Posts : 899
Join date : 2009-09-08

PostSubject: Re: Last Flag Rule, Help?    Sun Jun 10, 2012 10:40 am

Mamba334 wrote:
#12- No Chopper, No Arty on last flag unless it is the airfield.

Like a Star @ heaven Okay, so this clears up a lot but again, I think all Admins should have an understanding on this rule. I have bombed the airfield when it was the last flag and heard someone say no arty.

15 - Do not switch team to the winning team.

Like a Star @ heaven This can get people in trouble because, I have been playing myself and will be on one team, it then automatically switches due to players left or something. And come to find out that was the current winning team. I like to be the underdog. I never switch to winning teams intionally. It then kicks you and you lose all your points. That Auto Admin thing doesn't know exactly what happened. I think before you kick people, if they are on Ventrillo or in your squad, you should be able to see they are apologizing for the mistake or ask them why that happened.

I'm not one to wine and complain. I just see things and make my suggestion.

Thanks,

- Mamba

People also say "No air attack or arty on Last flag" when the US gets their first flag!
Just because "Someone" yells (types) "Last Flag" that doesn't mean it is true, it could be a NON admin because they don't know the rules and I have went to post the "Last Flag" banner and when I got back to the game, the Chinese side had gotten two flags. Just try to watch the flags when you see it is getting close to a last flag situation.
There are people that are not familiar with the "Last Flag" rule as it applies to the China side.
The way you described the last flag situation happens all the time, IF the last flag goes neutral, it then becomes open to air attack and arty but just because say the China side is able to neutralize the south base (or any other flag) then that doesn't open up the last remaining China flag to air attack or arty.

We realize that auto balance can switch people as it is suppose to do but there are times that we see people switch to the winning side on their own and that is when we kick for that offense.
Auto admin also kicks for what it sees as ramming with a plane and sometimes you hit the debris of the plane after you have shot it down, just a glitch that we have to deal with.


Not all situations can be 100% correct but we try our best to make them as good as we can.



E
Back to top Go down
Wansu

avatar

Posts : 278
Birthday : 1963-11-09
Join date : 2011-10-08
Age : 53
Location : Tucson, AZ

PostSubject: Re: Last Flag Rule, Help?    Sun Jun 10, 2012 11:23 am

I learned the hard way. I was on the Chinese side, I was last man standing with no flags. I got south base neutral when Dangerous Doug came flying in with the attack chopper and nailed my tank (of which I thought I was relatively safe to sit in).

When I complained Doug laughed...Neutral does not equate to captured, no matter what direction it is going.

I always imagine the last guy at North Village, laying there waiting for all hell to rain down.
Back to top Go down
Mamba334

avatar

Posts : 385
Birthday : 1979-05-02
Join date : 2012-06-01
Age : 38
Location : Montgomery, Alabama, USA

PostSubject: Re: Last Flag Rule, Help?    Sun Jun 10, 2012 12:13 pm

Okay, I guess rules apply differently for each team. I know not to attack carrier and all that. So to get this straight ...

Arty on airfield is always allowed, even if it is the last flag.
If either team has one flag and the other is neutral, arty is only allowed on the neutral flag?

Correct?
Back to top Go down
Mamba334

avatar

Posts : 385
Birthday : 1979-05-02
Join date : 2012-06-01
Age : 38
Location : Montgomery, Alabama, USA

PostSubject: Re: Last Flag Rule, Help?    Sun Jun 10, 2012 12:16 pm

E641 wrote:
IF the last flag goes neutral, it then becomes open to air attack and arty but just because say the China side is able to neutralize the south base (or any other flag) then that doesn't open up the last remaining China flag to air attack or arty.

Answered my question, thanks for your time! See you all in a few hours!

Again, I love the rules and the serve. Just trying to respect the rules and understand them. Not complaining.
Back to top Go down
porra_eusoumau

avatar

Posts : 365
Birthday : 1966-05-28
Join date : 2011-10-26
Age : 51
Location : Porto, Portugal

PostSubject: Re: Last Flag Rule, Help?    Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:46 pm

Mamba334 wrote:
Okay, I guess rules apply differently for each team. I know not to attack carrier and all that. So to get this straight ...

Arty on airfield is always allowed, even if it is the last flag.
If either team has one flag and the other is neutral, arty is only allowed on the neutral flag?

Correct?

Arty on airfield is always allowed, even if it is the last flag--indeed, mate, you got it right
If either team has one flag and the other is neutral, arty is only allowed on the neutral flag Again, you got it right; China is the only team wich can be reduced to one flag left, since US always has the uncap carrier...
Back to top Go down
Mamba334

avatar

Posts : 385
Birthday : 1979-05-02
Join date : 2012-06-01
Age : 38
Location : Montgomery, Alabama, USA

PostSubject: Re: Last Flag Rule, Help?    Mon Jun 11, 2012 10:31 am

Thanks mate!! Highly appreciate the knowledge! Smile

See you guys later after work!

- Mamba What a Face
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Last Flag Rule, Help?    

Back to top Go down
 
Last Flag Rule, Help?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Ard boyz rule faq
» Warhammer Fantasy Rule Book Available Newport Games
» New 40K Rule Book FAQ
» Yay Flag
» The Official Bonus Animals, Scenarios, American Flag, and Other Items

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
=TFC= :: Community :: Questions, Complaints, Unban Requests ?-
Jump to: